Wachtell Lipton was founded on a handshake in 1965 as a small group of lawyers dedicated to providing advice and expertise at the highest levels. We have achieved extraordinary results following the distinctive vision of our founders -- a cohesive team of lawyers intensely focused on solving our clients' most important problems.
Our distinctive structure defines our approach.  We maintain a ratio of associates to partners significantly below that of other firms.  We focus on matters that require the attention, extensive experience and sophistication of our partners.
We have experience in the fields of mergers and acquisitions, strategic investments, takeovers and takeover defense, corporate and securities law and corporate governance. We handle some of the largest, most complex and demanding transactions in the United States and around the world.
Wachtell Lipton is dedicated to providing advice and expertise at the highest levels and achieving extraordinary results for our clients. We seek individuals who are talented, motivated and committed in order to maintain our record of excellence.
Byowitz, Michael H.
Of Counsel, Antitrust
tel 212.403.1268
fax 212.403.2268


Michael Byowitz is of counsel at Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz (where he was a partner for more than 30 years) specializing in antitrust and competition law.  He represents multinational corporations on major domestic and international mergers, acquisitions, joint ventures and corporate takeovers at the Department of Justice, the Federal Trade Commission, and State Attorneys General in the United States and consults on antitrust investigations in the European Union, the United Kingdom, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Colombia, Mexico, Venezuela and many other countries.  He has served as antitrust counsel on many major matters including, among many others, for United Technologies in its proposed acquisition of Rockwell Collins and its prior acquisition of Goodrich, Novartis in acquiring Alcon, and Maytag in its acquisition by Whirlpool.

Mr. Byowitz is a frequent speaker on antitrust issues in the U.S. and abroad.  He is consistently ranked among leading antitrust specialists in peer reviews including Global Competition Review, Who’s Who Legal, Super Lawyers, Best Lawyers and Chambers.

Mr. Byowitz received an A.B. (1973) from Columbia College and a J.D. (1976) from New York University School of Law (Order of the Coif and editor of New York University Law Review).  Before joining Wachtell Lipton (1983), Mr. Byowitz served as Senior Trial Attorney with the Antitrust Division, U.S. Department of Justice.

Mr. Byowitz has long been active in the American Bar Association.  He serves on the ABA Board of Governors and its Executive Committee, and previously served for 12 years in the ABA House of Delegates (as a Delegate-at-Large, and before that for the Section of International Law and the NY State Bar Association), and was a member of the Committee on Issues of Significance to the Legal Profession.  Mr. Byowitz is a member of the Board of Directors of the American Bar Foundation (ABF) and is Immediate Past Chair of the Fellows of the ABF, was previously New York State Co-Chair of the Fellows, and has received the Outstanding State Co-Chair Award.  He has served as a member of the ABA’s Presidential Appointment Committee, the ABA's Standing Committee on Membership, and an ABA Presidential Task Force on Federal Pleading Standards.  He has served as Chair of the Section of International Law, Chair of three of its divisions, Chair of its International Antitrust Law Committee and Co-Chair of its International Pro Bono Committee.  He has received the Section’s Lifetime Achievement Award. 

Mr. Byowitz has been active in the New York City Bar over many years, having served on its Executive Committee (and Chair of its subcommittee evaluating Elena Kagan's nomination to the U.S. Supreme Court).  He has chaired its Council on International Affairs and its Antitrust & Trade Regulation Committee.

Mr. Byowitz is an honorary lifetime member of AIJA (the International Young Lawyers Association).


  • American Bar Association, Section of International Law, Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Fellows of the American Bar Foundation, Outstanding State Co-chair Award
  • AIJA (International Association of Young Lawyers), Honorary Lifetime Member