Jeffrey M. Wintner



Honorable Antonin Scalia, Supreme Court of the United States, 1991 – 1992

Honorable Laurence H. Silberman, United States District Court, District of Columbia, 1990 – 1991

Jeffrey M. Wintner

Jeffrey M. Wintner is a retired partner of, and Of Counsel to, Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz.  He continues to advise clients about mass tort defense strategy and resolution options. 

For over 25 years through 2023, he was a partner in the Litigation Department of the Firm with a practice focusing on mass tort defense strategy, including both litigation and designing and negotiating complex resolutions, as well as on constitutional law, products liability, insurance, class action and appellate litigation.  Mr. Wintner is a principal architect and negotiator of many of the most complex mass tort settlements in the last three decades, including the nationwide opioid settlement among pharmaceutical distributors and the states and local governments and the Master Settlement Agreement among the leading members of the tobacco industry and the states.  He also has led successful resolutions of mass tort, toxic tort and products liability litigation, investigations and exposures for multiple clients in the chemical, e-cigarette, agricultural, oil and other industries, including litigation and settlements of State Attorney General actions, litigation brought by municipalities or other local government entities, MDL proceedings and class actions and litigation among companies regarding responsibility for payment.   He regularly advises companies and their Boards of Directors regarding strategy for preventing or dealing with large-scale mass tort exposure.

Mr. Wintner graduated summa cum laude in 1986 from the University of Pennsylvania and received his law degree magna cum laude in 1989 from Harvard University, where he was an editor of the Harvard Law Review.   After graduating law school, he served as law clerk to the Honorable Laurence H. Silberman of the United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit for the 1990 term, and to the Honorable Antonin Scalia of the United States Supreme Court for the 1991 term.

Select Publications